Prairie Provinces Water Board

The MAA provides for an equitable sharing of available waters for all eastward flowing streams that cross interprovincial boundaries, including lakes and serves to protect transboundary aquifers and surface water quality.

Contact Us

Prairie Provinces Water Board
2365 Albert Street, Room 300
Regina, Saskatchewan S4P 4K1

Telephone: (306) 780-6042
Fax: (306) 780-6810
Email: Lynne.Quinnett-Abbott@ec.gc.ca

www.ppwb.ca

Committee on Water Quality

The Committee on Water Quality (COWQ) reports to and provides technical advice to the Board on water quality issues. COWQ coordinates the PPWB water quality monitoring program, and addresses issues about the quality of water crossing interprovincial borders. COWQ is also is responsible for reporting any Unusual or Emergency water quality conditions under the Contingency Plan. The Secretariat provides support as the COWQ is chaired by the Executive Director. The COWQ Secretary participates in the technical work and records Meeting Minutes. The Secretariat prepares the annual Excursion report using water quality monitoring data from Environment and Climate Change Canada. COWQ recommends the annual Monitoring Plan for water quality and is approved by the Board. The PPWB requests Environment and Climate Change Canada to conduct the water quality monitoring in the MAA's interprovincial river reaches.

  • Paul Klawunn

    Government of Canada Member

    Phone: (905) 336-4965
    Fax: (905) 336-4609
    Email: paul.klawunn@canada.ca

    Environment and Climate Change Canada

  • Claudia Sheedy

    Government of Canada Member

    Phone: (403) 317-2273
    Fax:
    Email: Claudia.Sheedy@agr.gc.ca

    Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada

  • Gongchen Li

    Alberta Member

    Phone: (780) 422-8464
    Fax: (780) 644-7571
    Email: Gongchen.Li@gov.ab.ca

    Alberta Environment and Parks

  • John-Mark Davies

    Saskatchewan Member

    Phone: (306) 933-8250
    Fax: (306) 933-6820
    Email: John-Mark.Davies@wsask.ca

    Water Security Agency

  • Nicole Armstrong

    Manitoba Member

    Phone: (204) 945-3991
    Fax: (204) 948-2357
    Email: nicole.armstrong@gov.mb.ca

    Department of Sustainable Development

  • Larry Braul

    Government of Canada Alternate

    Phone: (306) 523-6745
    Fax: (306) 523-6767
    Email: Larry.Braul@agr.gc.ca

  • Glen McMaster

    Saskatchewan Alternate

    Phone: (306) 787-8764
    Fax: (306) 787-0780
    Email: glen.mcmaster@swa.ca

    Saskatchewan Watershed Authority

  • Barry Olson

    Alberta Alternate Member

    Phone: 403-381-5884
    Fax:
    Email: barry.olson@gov.ab.ca

  • Elaine Page

    Manitoba Alternate

    Phone: 204-945-5344
    Fax: 204-948-2357
    Email: Elaine.Page@gov.mb.ca

    Department of Sustainable Development

Top of Page

Page last modified: 17 August 2018

Members Only