Prairie Provinces Water Board

The Prairie Provinces Water Board is a vital institution of governance in the prairies that facilitates sound and collaborative management of shared water resources.

Contact Us

Prairie Provinces Water Board
Suite 1001 - 10th Floor, Alvin Hamilton Building
1783 Hamilton Street
Regina, SK S4P 2B6

Telephone: (306) 564-4462 or (306) 564-4450
Fax: (306) 780-6810  

Email: ppwb@ec.gc.ca

Committee on Water Quality

The Committee on Water Quality (COWQ) reports to and provides technical advice to the Board on water quality issues. COWQ coordinates the PPWB water quality monitoring program, and addresses issues about the quality of water crossing interprovincial borders. COWQ is also is responsible for reporting any Unusual or Emergency water quality conditions under the Contingency Plan. The Secretariat provides support as the COWQ is chaired by the Executive Director. The COWQ Secretary participates in the technical work and records Meeting Minutes. The Secretariat prepares the annual Excursion report using water quality monitoring data from Environment and Climate Change Canada. COWQ recommends the annual Monitoring Plan for water quality and is approved by the Board. The PPWB requests Environment and Climate Change Canada to conduct the water quality monitoring in the MAA's interprovincial river reaches.

Patrick Cherneski

COWQ Chair

Phone: 306-564-4450
Email: patrick.cherneski@ec.gc.ca

Environment and Climate Change Canada

Elaine Page

Government of Canada Member

Phone: 431-277-2907
Email: elaine.page@ec.gc.ca

Environment and Climate Change Canada

Henry Wilson

Government of Canada Member

Phone: 204-578-6557
Email: henry.wilson@agr.gc.ca

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Gongchen Li

Alberta Member

Phone: 780-422-8464
Email: gongchen.li@gov.ab.ca

Alberta Environment and Protected Areas

John-Mark Davies

Saskatchewan Member

Phone: 306-933-8250
Email: john-mark.davies@wsask.ca

Water Security Agency

Nicole Armstrong

Manitoba Member

Phone: 204-945-3991
Email: nicole.armstrong@gov.mb.ca

Manitoba Environment, Climate and Parks

Elise Watchorn

Government of Canada Alternate Member

Phone: 204-984-3316
Email: elise.watchorn@ec.gc.ca

Environment and Climate Change Canada

Glen McMaster

Saskatchewan Alternate Member

Phone: 306-787-8764
Email: Glen.McMaster@wsask.ca

Water Security Agency

Andrew Burton

Manitoba Alternate Member

Phone: 204-945-5574
Email: Andrew.Burton@gov.mb.ca

Manitoba Environment, Climate and Parks

Top of page

Page last modified: 27 October 2022 16:53

Members Only