Committee on Water Quality

The Committee on Water Quality (COWQ) reports to and provides technical advice to the Board on water quality issues. COWQ coordinates the PPWB water quality monitoring program, and addresses issues about the quality of water crossing interprovincial borders. COWQ is also is responsible for reporting any Unusual or Emergency water quality conditions under the Contingency Plan. The Secretariat provides support as the COWQ is chaired by the Executive Director. The COWQ Secretary participates in the technical work and records Meeting Minutes. The Secretariat prepares the annual Excursion report using water quality monitoring data from Environment and Climate Change Canada. COWQ recommends the annual Monitoring Plan for water quality and is approved by the Board. The PPWB requests Environment and Climate Change Canada to conduct the water quality monitoring in the MAA's interprovincial river reaches.

Mike Renouf

COWQ Chair

Phone: 306-780-7004
Email: Mike.Renouf@canada.ca

Environment and Climate Change Canada

Paul Klawunn

Government of Canada Member

Phone: 905-336-4965
Email: Paul.Klawunn@canada.ca

Environment and Climate Change Canada

Claudia Sheedy

Government of Canada Member

Phone: 403-317-2273
Email: Claudia.Sheedy@agr.gc.ca

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Gongchen Li

Alberta Member

Phone: 780-422-8464
Email: Gongchen.Li@gov.ab.ca

Alberta Environment and Parks

Elaine Page

Manitoba Member

Phone: 204-954-5344
Email: Elaine.Page@gov.mb.ca

Department of Sustainable Development

John-Mark Davies

Saskatchewan Member

Phone: 306-933-8250
Email: John-Mark.Davies@wsask.ca

Water Security Agency

Barry Olson

Alberta Alternate Member

Phone: 403-381-5884
Email: Barry.Olson@gov.ab.ca

Alberta Agriculture and Forestry

Nicole Armstrong

Manitoba Alternate Member

Phone: 204-945-3991
Email: Nicole.Armstrong@gov.mb.ca

Department of Sustainable Development

Glen McMaster

Saskatchewan Alternate Member

Phone: 306-787-8764
Email: Glen.McMaster@wsask.ca

Water Security Agency

Top of page

Page last modified: 06 September 2019 10:15

Members Only